Bilde av bandet

Spurv [Norwegian for sparrow] is a Norwegian instrumental post rock/metal band, founded in 2011. The band consists of Herman Otterlei (guitar), Gustav Jørgen Pedersen (guitar), Eirik Ørevik Aadland (guitar), Hans-Jakob Jeremiassen (bass), Simon Ljung (drums) and Simen Eifring (trombone).

The band has gathered a lot of praise over the years, and their album "Myra" which was released in 2018, is no exception. The album is a wordless exploration of the enigma of existence through intense and melodic instrumental music, noisy drones, orchestral clusters and emotional post rock/metal. “Myra” is Norwegian for “the marsh”. Musical contributions from among others Ole-Henrik Moe/Kari Rønnekleiv and Tore Ylvisaker/Ole Aleksander Halstensgård (Ulver).

“Ultimately, Myra is about life and death, about that which is and that which perishes. Art poetizes and co-creates our understanding of life and death, of the world, existence and the human being’s place among animals, plants, twigs, moss, fungi and mud. And in a time when the boundless sovereignty of the human being, the inevitability of progress and eternal growth without decay is the myth that increasingly steers humans from all corners of the world, it is up to artists to show the porous fundament of the myth, that the world is immensely more unfathomable than it appears at both first and second looks, that nothing lasts forever, but that everything gets its end, also the night. As Martin Heidegger says in the last track of the album: “Die Sterblichen sind die Menschen." The mortals are the human beings."