Getimage id664

Dead Skeletons Live In Berlin

Vinyl FC35V12
UPC 5060467880084
Buy at
Hires images:
Getimage id664 150374
1. Om Vajra Sattva Hung
2. Om Mani Padme Hum
3. Buddha Christ
4. Kundalini Eyes
5. Psycho Dead
6. When The Sun
7. Dead Comet
8. Get on The Train
9. Kingdom Of God
10. Dead Mantra

Dead Skeletons Live in Berlin, which will be released March 9th. Their first release in two years, the album captures a performance at Berlin’s iconic SO36. This unique show, full of celebratory energy, marked the release of their double A side for “Om Varja Sattva Hung/ Dead Comet” in the birth place of their own label, Dead Monk Records.

It also saw the club revived especially for this performance. To their fans, Dead Skeletons are more than a band, they are rock n roll spirit guides, exploring the depths of light and dark, life and death, and all the spaces in-between. Powered by their ‘Dead Mantra’ – “He who fears death cannot enjoy life” – Dead Skeletons are a celebration of the self, on the same enlightening spiritual path first trod by free jazz experimentalists Albert Ayler and John Coltrane.

The Berlin show captured on this record begins with calm, floating drones that could have been forged in the tranquillity of Iceland’s glaciers. Then the skeletal guitar line of “Om Varja Sattva Hung” slices in propelled by a relentless motoric rhythm. The driving, precise beats throb like German Krautrockers Neu! or La Dusseldorf. Although Dead Skeletons are in search of spiritual answers, they also rock. Like Buddhist Stooges, theirs is a raw and propulsive psych. They get down and dirty on “Psycho Dead” with a sleazy bass line reminiscent of New York duo Suicide’s classic “Johnny”, seeping with edge, danger and attitude.