R 3133023 1337724955 9915 jpeg

Jonas Alaska Jonas Alaska

Katalognr. JANSEN012
Buy at shop.fysiskformat.no
Katalognr. JANSEN011
Buy at shop.fysiskformat.no
Høyoppløste bilder:
R 3133023 1337724955 9915 jpeg

Jonas Alaska (born 1988), from Åmli, Aust Agder, Norway, releases his self-titled debut album in September on Jansen Plateproduksjon. Despite his young age, Jonas Alaska is an incredibly talented lyricist and songwriter with a characteristic sound and a strong voice. After a series of shows, including by:Larm in Oslo in February, many have their eyes on the talent from the south. As a consequence of those concerts, Jonas has played many of the larger festivals in Norway this summer.

Artists like Paul Simon, John Lennon and Bob Dylan are often mentioned as references for Jonas Alaska’s music, but as southern Norwegian newspaper Arendals Tidende wrote about the 22-year old: Despite his tight trousers, harmonica, boots and guitar, he is no copycat of Dylan. Jonas Alaska has his own characteristics and his own sound, also fit for the present.

The album consists of 11 songs written by the artist, most of them during the past two years. The songs range from heart-wrenching songs, to ballads with captivating harmonies and up-tempo tunes with elements of Americana, folk and pop – all with an original sound, both lyrically and melodically. Alaska’s lyrics often focus on themes such as love, politics and tragedy, but also the simpler things in life that everyone can relate to.

Other than Alaska himself on vocals, piano and acoustic guitar, this incredibly talented team of well-known musicians contribute on the album:

Thom Hell: Guitar, piano, organ, vocals Even Ormestad: Bass, piano, keyboards Martin Horntveth: Drums, percussion David Wallumrød: Organ, piano Marius Graff: Banjo Audun Borrmann: Electric guitar Thomas Aslaksen: Drums Marcus Forsgren: Electric guitar

The debut album was recorded at Cabin Recorders with Thom Hell and Even Ormestad (Jaga Jazzist) as producers.

The first single “In The Backseat” is listed on all the big radio stations in Norway.


01. Tonight
02. In The Backseat
03. Morning Light
04. October
05. Mary, I’ll Remember This
06. Aberdeen
07. Robert Ollinger
08. Elena
09. You’ll Never Sit Next To Me
10. Dark At Last