Getimage id183

Mono Nowhere Now Here

Katalognr. PEL125CD
EAN 4059251291138
Buy at
Katalognr. PEL125LP
EAN 4059251291121
Buy at
Høyoppløste bilder:
Getimage id183 153535 153536
1. God Bless
2. After You Comes The Flood
3. Breathe
4. Nowhere, Now Here
5. Far And Further
6. Sorrow
7. Parting
8. Meet Us Where The Night Ends
9. Funeral Song
10. Vanishing, Vanishing Maybe

Across 10 albums in 20 years, MONO have convincingly reflected the quietest and most chaotic parts of life through their music. Their everexpanding instrumental palette – which began in earnest in 1999 with the traditional guitar-bassdrums rock band setup – has evolved to include as many as 30 orchestral instruments. Now, on Nowhere Now Here, the band add electronics to their repertoire – perhaps inspired by guitarist/composer Takaakira ‘Taka’ Goto’s recent collaboration with John McEntire, the beguiling Behind the Shadow Drops. Nowhere Now Here also sees MONO’s first-ever lineup change, adding new drummer Dahm Majuri Cipolla (The Phantom Family Halo) to the core trio of Goto, Tamaki, and Yoda. Tamaki also makes her vocal debut here, singing into the shadows of vintage Nico on the poetically hazy “Breathe”.

The unlikely career of MONO has taken them to virtually every corner of the planet, several times over. Those corners have all left indelible marks on their music, as it drills deeper towards the sound of feeling not quite human and all too human – often at the same time. As British Musical Magazine NME once stated, "this is music for the Gods".

After releasing 10 successful albums including a live album with an orchestra in New York, the band received the highly regarded award "The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette" from the Idyllwild International Festival of Cinema for their collaborative short film "Where We Begin" in 2015. The band was also nominated for "Ariel Award for Best Original Music Score" for the feature film "The 4th Company" which was released in 2016.